top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureyogaventurer

Gaining experience in construction work, totally exhausting 😅

Updated: Jun 12, 2021

Ok, so may be construction of a new house isn't so much pain in neck but renovation of an old one definitely is draining!!! I'm telling you by my experience 🤯

I'm trying to renovate a big old 🏠. It has so much space garden area and all. many creative ideas arise when I see this house but high cost of materials, dealing with labour and people who would work on it makes me want to cry😭 Sometimes I'm unable to explain my idea to them , sometimes they don't agree to it and try to enforce their own idea 😂

For example I wanted to install grills on boundary walls and a fence around kitchen garden of the house. Today finally grills are installed but fencing is still pending 😅 It took me at least a week to get the work done!! Why it took me so long?1) First I decided what type of grills would be perfect ( stared and took pictures of countless houses with grills, the owners must be wary and thinking I'm planning to rob their houses🤣) 2) second I went to blacksmith and showed him some pictures of the grill I want. It took some time convincing him that this grill is good for me and not the ones he is suggesting 😅

3) then I found out that to install a grill I need to hire a mason and they work on daily wages. So if I callthem the day I'm expecting the grill to be delivered and it's not delivered on time, I need to keep them busy in some work( since it was an old house who had some unique tenants, a lot of cleaning, prepartion of garden area etc was work for them😅)

4) finally 3 days after expected time and countless phone reminders and visit to blacksmith shop accompanied with various relatives of mine to pressurise him( tactics 😅) grill was delivered 😅

5) Now mason told me to arrange for badarpur, Balu, cement and bricks to install it. I called the supplier and he delivered. Now mason says that Balu isn't good, badarpur has pebbles in it. Material isn't good. Well, what can I do now🤦🤷 😐

Anyways he took two days to install it.

6) fencing is still pending, why? Because when I finally decided what type of I want for the kitchen garden, I called blacksmith to measure the area. When he arrived my father and his friends also stopped by. They all( including blacksmith and mason had very strong opinions about how it would look good and strong. Nothing was finally decided, and blacksmith left without measurements 🤣). Today he came back again for measurements. Let's see what happens, fingers crossed 😅

However, I learned many things about construction now but I would prefer someone else to take care of all these things ( a contractor). Why?

Because going to the site daily around 8 in the morning (today at6:30am😅) and returning after 5:30pm, exhausted, sunburned like a lobster, isn't very appealing 🤣

*Before and after installation of grill pictures👇





55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Untitled

Testing why my website is not working 🤔

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page